damik's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What are your principles worth?

I've been pondering the thought of what I would give to defend my principles and beilefs. Which essentially askes what kind of person I am.
My sir is a patriotic man who believes strongly in protecting our countries ideals. He gave four years of his life to serve our country. He volentiered for Desert Storm, willing to take the risks to protect his beliefs. He is an honerable man.
My father has nothing but disdane for this country. He disagrees with the laws, policies, and governing bodies of the country. I take no exception with this. He has many established reasons for it. Its what he does about it: he sits with his friends and complaines. He complains to me, he complains to family. Occasionally he's written an artical for publication. While that does make his oppionion public, it does nothing to make the changes he wants come into effect. The closest he's come to a ralley or any other public demonstration that I know of is toking it up at a Norml bbq. As far as I know he's not even a card carring dues paying member. He calls for social change but his cries never seem to get further then the computer room. I'm not sure I can respect that.
My step-mother has nothing but disdane for this country, too. She disagrees with the laws, policies, and government bodies of the nation. She has issues she is strongly in favor of. In her home state she helped orginize a "Million Cane March" or "White Cane Day" or something like that. To bring to public awairness issues in the blind community. She has donated time and artwork to further the cause. She is an important member of her local chapter working toward change. It impresses me that she can invest so much at the risk of such a little return.
I am impressed at the people who put themselves out there for their convictions. Even the missionaries, they drive me nuts, but at least they are out there working a cause they deeply believe in.
I haven't been one of thoes people. I used to write letters in hopes of helping prisoners of concious, I would have like to have praticipated in the abortion ralley in DC, but thats about the extent of my involvement in such things. I used to, I would have liked to. I say I believe in things but I don't back it up with actions.
What kind of person do I show myself to be then?

9:55 a.m. - 05-18-04
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

I haven't cut myself in: Why the Counter

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Rings

Poetry

Online Therepist

I feel...
The current mood of Damik at www.imood.com

Cast

R-E-V-E-I-W

random entry

older entries:

When. I called when! - 11:27 p.m. , 10-07-13

Intrusive - 3:31 p.m. , 09-12-13

It isn't working today. - 2:21 p.m. , 09-09-13

Sleep, SI, Stress, and Pain, yeah, I hit them all. - 4:46 p.m. , 08-09-13

I hate this game. I don't want to play anymore. - 2:59 p.m. , 05-29-13