damik's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I don't think its going very well

We went on a galary walk Friday night, mostly because a friend wanted to see a couch that was being saved for her a the local consignment shop, but also because there was free snacks and alchocal. Oh and I guess it was the culteral thing to do. But mostly the art sucked ass. I know that art is a subjective thing, but as far as I'm conserned I didn't see any. (I know, I'm a bitch.) But there were things like these goofy dolls that the friend liked that I could sit down and make exactly the same in a half hours time. Give me forty-five minits and I could make something better.
We are still in the midst of moving. Last month when Will gave the landlady the rent he told here that we wouldn't be extending the lease after it expired in the end of December. Note "the end of December". So apperently this morning she happened to be peeking through our window (on the second floor) and she thought the apartment was abandoned, never mind that the rent wasn't late so she wasn't with in her rights to enter yet even if we had. She checked the doorknob and finding it unlocked decided to enter. It was noon and Will and I had stayed in bed late. I was in my jammies still unshowered, our apartment is a freaking mess, and I was mortified when I heard her call out. Will had been out smoking earlier and was dressed so he talked to her, he gave her a check for all of December's rent. She was eager to start showing the apartment and asked when she could. He told her that we wouldn't be out until mid-month at the soonest. She pushed that she would like to be able to show it before then and Will let her know in an event like that she would have to call us first so we could let her know if it was a good time. The place is trashed, she saw that the place is trashed and we wouldn't want anybody in now. As she was leaving she said she was sorry for just barging in like that and he responded that it was OK.
Now I know that that is one of thoes flipt comments that you don't mean anything by, but I was already feeling pissed and violated by her entry and in my view there was no way that was justifiable let alone OK. I let Will know that, not politely. He got angry because it seemed he thought I was blaming him for bardging in. I was upset because to me it felt like he was condoning the violation. I accused him of reinforcing her behavior by giving her the check and telling her it was OK. The ensuing fight got big and ugly.
We had finally gotten to the point where we weren't screaming obsenaties at each other and were sitting in silence on the bed. Suddenly there was a voice yelling hello came from inside the apartment. I screamed. Will was in his undies and hollered out to wait minit. I was showered and dressed by this time so I hurred to the door. The landlady was back and she had the door ajar, had either of my cats taken the chance to bolt I would have been livid, and in tow she had an older couple to show the apartment too. This was't even two hours after she had stopped by before. She asked me if it was OK to come in and show the folks the apartment. Making no effort to hide my anger I told her no closed the door and locked it. Twice in one day she's violated my home and she did it after agreeing to call us firs, and she did it with out calling us. We've responded by posting a sternly worded letter on the door asking her not to violate our privacy and tenent rights by entering with out notice anymore. As we have now realized that she's a sociopath we know that the letter probably won't mean a thing, its more for the benifit of anybody she's bringing along to show the apartment to. I just can't wait to be out of here compleatly and into the new place where a faulty door latch nesessicates us remember to lock the door at all times.

12:27 a.m. - 12-05-04
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

I haven't cut myself in: Why the Counter

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Rings

Poetry

Online Therepist

I feel...
The current mood of Damik at www.imood.com

Cast

R-E-V-E-I-W

random entry

older entries:

When. I called when! - 11:27 p.m. , 10-07-13

Intrusive - 3:31 p.m. , 09-12-13

It isn't working today. - 2:21 p.m. , 09-09-13

Sleep, SI, Stress, and Pain, yeah, I hit them all. - 4:46 p.m. , 08-09-13

I hate this game. I don't want to play anymore. - 2:59 p.m. , 05-29-13