damik's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yah, I think so.

I just read What Dreams May Come. Bought it this afternoon and devoured it in four hours time.
I cannot adaquetly express what an extraodanary book that is. I personally think it's a must read for anyone with a pulse. I can totally understand why it has a cult following.
The movie was beautiful and thought provoking, but it didn't begin to do the book justice. I'm just sorry I took so long in getting the book.
I know I've expressed contradicting notions as to my belief of an afterlife and God, in one breath stating that it's a securaty blanket for the ignorant and in another saying I know there is a God because snowflakes scream.
What Dreams May Come comes as close as anything to expressing what I believe life after would have to be. And it truely did make me re-examin my life.
Not to long ago I was pondering what my legacy might be, and it occured to me that my poems should be, but that's not the first legacy I wanted to leave behind. The first one is the right one, I want to make a difference in people's lives. Touch people in a way that helps and heals.
It gets lost sometimes.
I remember well a poem I came acrossed in high school, I used to think of it every day.
Aptly it was called Consider Today
By John Kendrick Bangs

Is anybody happier
Becaue you passed his way?
Does anyone remember
That you spoke to him today?
This day is almost over,
And it's toiling time is through;
Is there anyone to utter now,
A friendly word for you?

Can you say tonight in passing
That you helped a single person
Of the many you have passed
Is a single heart rejoicing,
Over what you did or said?

Does one who's hopes were fading
Now look with courage ahead?
Think not on yesterday
Nor trouble borrow
On what maybe in store
For you tomorrow

But let today be
Your incessant care
The past is past
Tomorrow is in the air
Who give the best
That in him lies
Will find the road that
Leads to clearer skies

9:19 p.m. - 10-30-02
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

I haven't cut myself in: Why the Counter

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Rings

Poetry

Online Therepist

I feel...
The current mood of Damik at www.imood.com

Cast

R-E-V-E-I-W

random entry

older entries:

When. I called when! - 11:27 p.m. , 10-07-13

Intrusive - 3:31 p.m. , 09-12-13

It isn't working today. - 2:21 p.m. , 09-09-13

Sleep, SI, Stress, and Pain, yeah, I hit them all. - 4:46 p.m. , 08-09-13

I hate this game. I don't want to play anymore. - 2:59 p.m. , 05-29-13