damik's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Some Things the Heart Just Can't Let Go

It's funny how things creep up on you.
Mile stones.
With out even thinking about it. It may not have been a cause, it may just be. But lately I haven't been able to get that day out of my mind. I remember the details clearly. The pain in my stomach has dulled a bit when I think about it. I've yet to convince myself that I didn't deserve what happened. Quite the opposite, actually, the more I think about it, the more I know I was to blame. I remember sitting in the count out room, how cold my hands were even though it was June. I remember starting to tell Jeff a few times, but never being able to actually say it. Waiting for Keven to come back from vacation because I knew I would be safe. I wrote it all down in a letter, because I couldn't bring myself to say the words. How much better I felt because they both wanted to hurt him. I wonder what became of that letter. And how I knew that it was my fault because the police stopped perusing after they talked to my co-workers. I felt how they thought I got what I deserved because I was a whiny little slut. I asked for it. And when one of them got the courage to say it to my face.
I remember deciding that I didn't want to be an object of attraction anymore. I didn't want to be pretty, I didn't want to be desired. That I didn't care. And maybe I'm still afraid, I've been saying for so long now that I want to loose the weight, but maybe I'm afraid I'll get hurt again. Or I still need to punish myself.
In high school they'd ask us where we wanted to be in five years. At sixteen I'd always say I wanted to be in college working towards a degree. What degree I was working towards would always change. Because I hadn't decided, because it didn't really matter. Because I wanted to be dead in five years, but that's not something you tell your guidance counselor.
I don't remember the exact day, but it's been five years this month. I haven't thought this much about that day since the year it happened. Why did it creep up on me now? Isn't five years long enough to let this heal?

1:16 a.m. - 07-01-02
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

I haven't cut myself in: Why the Counter

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Rings

Poetry

Online Therepist

I feel...
The current mood of Damik at www.imood.com

Cast

R-E-V-E-I-W

random entry

older entries:

When. I called when! - 11:27 p.m. , 10-07-13

Intrusive - 3:31 p.m. , 09-12-13

It isn't working today. - 2:21 p.m. , 09-09-13

Sleep, SI, Stress, and Pain, yeah, I hit them all. - 4:46 p.m. , 08-09-13

I hate this game. I don't want to play anymore. - 2:59 p.m. , 05-29-13