damik's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yellowstone rocked

Yellowstone was a blast. Sorry I haven't updated sooner, but my Internet is being flaky. I have to restart my computer to get it to work, but I talked to the Comcast people, and I think I've gotten it all worked out. You know I've always been afraid of Tec support people, I hate calling them. I figure they are making fun of me because of my stupidity. Now having spent time with actual tecs, I realize I was right. I just have to get to the point where I don't care. People who know stuff that I don't are mean.
Sucks, they've changed login area of my primary email, and I don't remember my password so I can't figure out how to check it.
Wow, I really am dumb.
Ok, where was I? Oh yah, Yellowstone being a blast. So many things happened that I would have expected anyone to be completely pissed off about. That in my experience people get pissed off about. First off we left a lot later then we planned. We didn't make it all the way there like we had hoped. Had to stay in Idaho Falls for the night. Then continuing on the next day after many a minor inconvenience my windshield wiper broke. Couldn't get it fixed. Then we get to the park, the rain had all but stopped. We check out the paint pots and visit Old Faithful. Then we went to the backcountry office and registered for a backcountry campground. It was already getting later then we had planned but we got a campground rather close, only 2.2 miles. We head off for the ground using the trail we thought was right, after timeless wandering and losing the orange flags we figure we aren't going to find the ground so we turn around and make it back to the car after nightfall. We end up staying at a cabin for the night and decide to stay at a standard campground for the rest of the visit. Next day we decide to do more hiking and went to see Lewis falls, I don't think the trail we took was an actual trail, so it got increasingly more difficult untill we couldn't go on unless we wanted to wade. We couldn't get the fire going too well and firewood was scarce-ish. Poor Will his sleeping bag was thin and the zipper was broken so he froze all night.
But we had a great time. My legs hurt, my shoulders hurt, but I don't remember that now. I remember wandering the wrong way laughing and blaming the ranger because we were lost. Playing with the fire after we had finally gotten it going good. Walking the game trail and coming up on an elk not 25 feet away. Observing the majestic human, disappointed that we didn't bring the means to tag and track them. And wondering how long it would take to boil a bison in one of the thermal springs.
There is no pain on a vacation so fun.

8:41 a.m. - 07-01-03
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

I haven't cut myself in: Why the Counter

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Rings

Poetry

Online Therepist

I feel...
The current mood of Damik at www.imood.com

Cast

R-E-V-E-I-W

random entry

older entries:

When. I called when! - 11:27 p.m. , 10-07-13

Intrusive - 3:31 p.m. , 09-12-13

It isn't working today. - 2:21 p.m. , 09-09-13

Sleep, SI, Stress, and Pain, yeah, I hit them all. - 4:46 p.m. , 08-09-13

I hate this game. I don't want to play anymore. - 2:59 p.m. , 05-29-13