damik's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

New Years with Rob Thomas and the boys.

So we had the coolest New Years ever. It started Thursday when I stopped by Matchbox Twenty's web site and saw that they were doing two shows at the Joint in the Hard Rock Hotel. New Years Eve and New Years Day. I called Will up and asked or was it begged him to go. He told me if there was a way to make it affordable we could, but probably not because New Years in Vegas is way too spendy. I went to Ticket Masters site and the only tickets they had were the $200 ones. Probably couldn't afford those. I went to Expedia, Travelocity, and Travelworm and checked out hotel prices and they were either booked up or Wow! too expensive. I was about to write a scathing hateful post about how MB20 shouldn't have concerts I couldn't go to when I decided to check eBay. There was quite a few being sold for both days and for good prices too. So I called my sister and asked her if she had a car we could borrow to get out there. Unfortenatly she didn't as her husband had driven his to Greenbay. When I called her I was thinking of doing just a buzz out to Vegas and back. We'd done it before and it would be well worth it for the show. She suggested that we look for a hotel room in St. George instead and then we'd only have an hour and a half drive before we got to sleep. She looked it up and found a few good prices for us. As it turned out it would be $160 for the tickets $45 for the room and $65 for the rental car. we could see Matchbox for less then $300! I let Will know but also told him are only had $385 in our account. He said he'd think about it. while he was thinking the cheap tickets I was watching disappeared. I texted him quickly to let him know and as soon as I did the tickets reappeared with $15 more on the shipping. I let him know that they were back but a little more. He called me and told me to buy them. I made sure he was certian and hit Buy It Now! and we were going to Vegas for New Years. I got nervous after I bought the tickets because theywere in Canada and we needed them by Saturday to go to the concert. She wasn't even going to mail it until Friday. I was sure there was no way we would get the tickets in time to drive to Vegas for the 10:00 show. When I shared my fears with Will he assured me that Fedex Saturday delivery was before 10:30am. I felt more at ease and we proceeded to book a car through Thrifty. The next day we find that Thrifty requires a $250 deposit and we only had $108 available on our only major credit card. So our new fear was that we couldn't get a car to get us out there. After calling around we found that Alamo doesn't require a deposit. Yah! Alamo! The cost would be a little more per day but we could actually rent it. We decided to wait until we got our tickets to book the room. When thet ickets arrived we booked a room also a little more as our penalty for waiting. We got the car got on the road and made it in good time to St. George. The city was all torn up and blocked off for their New Years Eve celebration. Finding our hotel was stressfull and the place was a dive when we found it. It was Ok though because it was only a place to sleep. We dropped our bags off and drove on to Vegas. 55 mins down the road we realized we left our tickets in the bags. Luckly we had timed it so we had more then enough time to turn back and get them then make it to the Joint with about an hour to spend. It was slow going sowe ended up with forty-five mins to spare all that extra time was spent in gridlock and we made it in time for the doors to open. The show was incredible and we were further entertained by the antics of shirtless fanboy. All in all it was well worth the effort to get there.

11:43 p.m. - 01-03-06
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

I haven't cut myself in: Why the Counter

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Rings

Poetry

Online Therepist

I feel...
The current mood of Damik at www.imood.com

Cast

R-E-V-E-I-W

random entry

older entries:

When. I called when! - 11:27 p.m. , 10-07-13

Intrusive - 3:31 p.m. , 09-12-13

It isn't working today. - 2:21 p.m. , 09-09-13

Sleep, SI, Stress, and Pain, yeah, I hit them all. - 4:46 p.m. , 08-09-13

I hate this game. I don't want to play anymore. - 2:59 p.m. , 05-29-13