damik's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Try and Justify it in the End

Ok, here's the creepy thing, mind you I would never admit this to anyone, and it's just a passing fancy, believe me it will go away by tomorrow. (Work you know) But, from time to time, I find myself actully wanting to have a child. I know, oh my God! What's this? A confirmed DINK wanting a child beforing even reaching full DINK-hood? This just cannot be. I don't even have my wave runners yet. I am still much to young, and I want to finish/start/consider more seriously college before attempting any sort of real life. But, I wonder if maybe I will come to the point in my life where kitties (sorry purrs) are just not enough for me.
I have many ways to rationalize not having kids, though it's not something that must be rationalized any more the I should have to explain why Trevor and I aren't married yet. It just seems like this day and age, and my family and co-workers, I need to have a reason for everything, and maybe I need a reason for my self. I've always thought bringing up a child now is kind of selfish. It seems kind of terrible to say and I'm sure it would raise a few heckles from mothers all over. But thinking about it, we have a serious over-population problem. Each day I see them distroying more wetlands to put up apartment complexes. Or, shudder to thought, strip-malls. If we didn't keep repopulating, we wouldn't need to continue to build. The earth can't sustain at the rate we are going. I would keep going on from here, but I start getting all millatant. While that's part of the reason, mostly it's what I tell other people, I'm really not ready, and I really want to be a DINK. I want what that lifestyle affords. I want the nice car, the nice house, the nice toys, and the freedome that comes with being childless. And even more then that is the reasons I don't tell anyone. That I'm afraid, that I don't think I would be a good mother. That I'm afraid I would become depressed and mean. That I would damage her. I can't live for myself, how could I live for some one else.
And so I try justifing it, that which doesn't really need justifing. Maybe to remind me when I go down the baby isle wondering what I should get my new little sister for Christmas. When I see all the wonderful new toys they have for bringing up a perfect, smart, happy baby. I just have to remember that nothing in my life can be that good. I can't keep a houseplant or a hampster, and it's for a cause.
And if that doesn't work, fifteen wound up four-year-olds tomorrow will.

11:29 p.m. - 10-06-02
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

I haven't cut myself in: Why the Counter

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Rings

Poetry

Online Therepist

I feel...
The current mood of Damik at www.imood.com

Cast

R-E-V-E-I-W

random entry

older entries:

When. I called when! - 11:27 p.m. , 10-07-13

Intrusive - 3:31 p.m. , 09-12-13

It isn't working today. - 2:21 p.m. , 09-09-13

Sleep, SI, Stress, and Pain, yeah, I hit them all. - 4:46 p.m. , 08-09-13

I hate this game. I don't want to play anymore. - 2:59 p.m. , 05-29-13